Small, large, and extra-large Moleskine cahiers

Try to imagine the shock I experienced during yesterday’s visit to my favorite stationer in Harvard Square, Cambridge: Moleskine now makes extra-large cahiers, which are sold three to a packet with either black or buff-colored covers. As so elegantly displayed by the black-gloved Phantom Shopper, these soft-backed notebooks are roughly the size of a composition book, dwarfing both the pocket-sized and large notebooks.

I refrained from buying any of these new extra-large notebooks because interestingly enough, I’ve recently downsized my Moleskine preference. Although I still have a religious dedication to my large lined journal, I no longer carry it with me everywhere. Yes, after having selecting my ubiquitous walking bag largely because it is sized to fit a large Moleskine, I’ve begun leaving my large lined journal at home on my kitchen table, where as you already know I sit and write over my morning cup of tea. These days, I carry with me in my walking bag a pocket-sized sketchbook for recording doodlish inspiration, a pocket-sized weekly planner for tracking appointments, and a single pocket-sized cahier for to-do lists, grocery lists, random thoughts and forget-me-nots, etc.

So while I’m carrying a collection of three Moleskines with me these days, they each are pocket-sized, my large lined companion holding down the fort on the kitchen table. And with that, I think I’ll put the kettle on for tea. It’s never too late to sit down with a long-time friend.

    While I’m having a spot of tea, click on over to The Dog’s Breakfast, where Panthergirl is hosting her Second Annual Comment-A-Thon for Greyhound Rescue. Just like last year, Panthergirl will donate money for each new comment received on today’s post, so click on over and tell her Reggie sent you (woof!)