Mudra with mala

No sooner did I join Facebook than I got tagged by not one but three different folks wanting me to share 25 random things about myself. Given the fact I’ve been blogging for over five years now, it’s remarkably difficult to think of 25 interesting tidbits that I haven’t already shared with the entire online world: you might say my life is an open blog. But here’s my best attempt to scrape 25 more things from the bottom of the not-yet-blogged barrel…

1. I was born in an ambulance. Neither of the EMTs had ever helped with a birth, and mine was the first (and only) time my father was present when any of his four daughters was born.

2. Before my mom gave birth, she’d been unable to reach her obstetrician (those being the days before cell phones or beepers) because he was attending a basketball game at Eastmoor High School in Columbus, Ohio: my eventual alma mater.

3. I’m named “Lorianne” after my Aunt Pat. I’ll leave you to wonder how exactly that works.

Mudras

4. I come from a large Italian family on my dad’s side, and most of my many male cousins were state champion wrestlers in high school. When I was growing up, strangers would regularly ask me if I was related to the wrestlers, and they’d always look impressed (and a little scared) when I said yes.

5. Because I don’t have any brothers, my dad didn’t contribute any champion wrestlers to the DiSabato dynasty. Whenever strangers would ask my mom whether any of her children wrestled, she’d say “Only on dates.”

6. I am a sucker for patriotic songs, both marching band numbers and really cheesy pop songs like Lee Greenwood’s “Proud to Be an American.”

7. I grew up pronouncing “nuclear” the way George W. Bush does. (I also grew up pronouncing “acoustic” as “a-CYOO-stic” and “coupon” as “CYOO-pon.”) I’ve since re-trained myself because of the ridicule some educated people heap on folks who talk how I do.

8. I love to sing Patsy Cline songs at full volume when I’m alone in my car. I also can’t help singing along to Stevie Wonder’s “I Wish” even though I never was a little nappy headed boy.

9. The only musical instrument I can play is the radio (or, these days, iPod).

10. My favorite part of John Philip Sousa’s “Stars and Stripes Forever” (see #6) is when the piccolo players stand up for their solo.

Big buddha

11. My Subaru Impreza, Miss Bling, has an elaborate imaginary personality. She’s sassy but doesn’t swear, is a god-fearing member of the United Church of Chrome, and “shouts out” to any other Subaru she sees on the road.

12. For the first few years after my divorce, I kept my wedding dress in a large cardboard box, first under my bed and then in my closet. I finally dumped it in a used clothing donation bin, not knowing what else to do with it.

13. Before I dumped my wedding dress, I tried it on to see if it still fit. It did.

14. When I was a child, I collected model horses. My collection numbered in the hundreds, and each horse had a name and a back-story which I meticulously chronicled in a notebook. After I went away to college, my mom packed and stored the best ones (mostly Breyer collectibles), and I sold them for roughly $700 on eBay to finance the moving van my then-husband and I hired when we moved to Keene. I still regret that I sold part of my childhood for such a mundane reason.

15. Although I don’t like the smell or texture of raw bananas or tomatoes, I don’t mind them cooked (e.g. banana bread or tomato sauce).

A-Okay

16. As a child, I was a hugely finicky eater. I refused to eat anything that “looked like how it was born,” which included anything that has veins (like lettuce). During this period of my life, I lived on Pillsbury food sticks, cinnamon toast, and Jell-O (having no idea what gelatin is “really” made of).

17. One of my college roommates once observed that she could easily identify me when I walked across a pitch-black room because my knees and ankles routinely cracked when I walk. They still do.

18. Despite (or perhaps because of?) #17, my residence hall-mates at one annual dorm-award ceremony voted that I had the “cutest walk.”

19. As an undergraduate, I took voice lessons, thinking they’d help me be a better (and less nervous) public speaker. I don’t know whether those voice lessons had any effect on my lecturing skills, but to this day I can still sing the first few stanzas of “Caro mio ben” from memory.

20. I’ve never had a broken bone, just audibly cracking ones (see #17).

21. I regularly drive the 12-13 hours between New England and Ohio in a single day, with no one other than Reggie to keep me company. (He’s yet to complain about my singing Patsy Cline, Stevie Wonder, or “Caro mio ben” at full volume to stay awake while I drive.)

As above, so below

22. On one trip to Ohio, I drove through a line of tornado-spawning thunderstorms. On another trip, a tractor-trailer truck blew a tire as I passed alongside it. In neither case did I have to sing Patsy Cline, Stevie Wonder, or “Caro mio ben” to stay awake.

23. I had two oral surgeries, two “nose jobs” (neither of them cosmetic), and an appendectomy before the age of 21. I’ve not had any surgeries since.

24. When I was a kid, I was fanatically obsessed with horses (see #14) and wanted to grow up to be an author like Walter Farley or Marguerite Henry. In the five years I’ve been blogging, I’ve written about horses only a couple of times.

25. I’ve spent most of my adult life thinking I hated V8 vegetable juice because it tastes like raw tomatoes (see #15), only to discover recently that I like it. Who knew?

One last random thing: I seem to be incapable of posting anything online without illustrating that post with photos, even if they are entirely unrelated to what I’m writing about.