Bright and bold

Given the number of tulips I photograph every spring, you’d probably never guess that as a child, tulips were my least-favorite flower. Tulips always struck me as being boring and non-imaginative, the kind of flower you’d design if your tastes were monochromatic and you had no flair for texture. I’m guessing the tulips of my childhood were particularly bland, their uniformity as unimpressive as that of artificial flowers. Or maybe I just didn’t like Tiny Tim.

Tulip appreciation

On Saturday around sunset, J and I took a quick walk through the Boston Public Garden on our way to an evening symphony concert. The Public Garden tulips were in full-flower, and with them were throngs of tulip appreciators, many of them with cameras. Perhaps my botanical tastes have matured, or maybe there are more (and more interesting) tulip varieties in New England gardens than there were in the Ohio gardens of my childhood, because now I find myself truly liking tulips. Whereas those bland tulips from my childhood seemed boring in their monotone uniformity, now I’m amazed at how many colors, shapes, and sizes tulips take. Or maybe I just really liked Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire and haven’t been able to look at tulips the same way since reading it.

Among the throngs of tulip-appreciators in the Public Garden on Saturday night were the folks who’d come to shoot tulips…

Shooting tulips

…as well as a bride and groom fresh from a wedding photography shoot among tulips, exactly four years and a day after the last time I blogged an April-chilled couple posing for pictures in the Public Garden.

Another Public Garden wedding shoot

Maybe it’s not the tulips that are remarkably uniform, but the behavior of tulip-appreciators (myself included) year after year.

Click here for a photo-set from Saturday night’s quick walk through the Boston Public Garden.