First crocuses

This year, the crocuses have bloomed in Newton about a week later than last year, but more or less on schedule with the year before.

First crocuses

Whenever the first crocuses bloom, it’s a long awaited cause for celebration: yet another sign that winter is waning and spring is on the way. The appearance of the first crocus is such an important annual event, I no longer leave it to chance, stalking those spots where I know crocuses have bloomed in the past and awaiting their arrival like a longtime friend.

This year, I’d worried that this particular patch of crocuses–typically the first to bloom in my corner of Newton–wouldn’t show up at all, since the trees that usually shelter them were cut down last summer. It turns out, though, that slumbering bulbs are more resilient than I thought, sleeping right through the earth-shaking toppling of trees and blooming in spring regardless.