Morning after October snow

It’s November, and that means the start of two annual writing marathons: National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) for folks who want to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days, and National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo) for folks who want to blog a post a day for 30 days.

Virginia creeper on fence

This year, I’ve decided to participate in a modified version of NaNoWriMo, something I’m calling NaNonWriMo. Instead of trying to write a novel in a month, I’m using the month of November as an excuse to write 50,000 words of nonfiction, the first step toward a rough-draft of a book-length nonfiction narrative I’ve been wanting to write. In the spirit of new beginnings, earlier I wrote 1,755 rambling words (a bit over my daily goal) to get started.

Since the stuff I’m writing is rough and rambling, I don’t envision sharing much (if any) of it here: instead, I see it as being the start of something else entirely, something that will tell me what to make of it, eventually, once I’ve written far enough. In the meantime, though, I’d like to post at least a picture (sometimes more) each day during the month of November–a modified version of NaBloPoMo–just to let you know I’m still around and still writing.