Student art projects

My classes at Framingham State are two hours long, so I give students a ten minute break halfway through class. While my students typically use this time to text, check Facebook, or otherwise fiddle with their phones, I use this time to walk the hallways of May Hall: a chance to stretch my legs and clear my head before teaching the second half of class.

Leaf collages

My favorite place in May Hall is the top floor, where the art studios are located. While art students diligently sketch, sculpt, and piece together projects in those studio classrooms, I walk the hallway and admire the finished projects on display: ceramic and papier-mâché sculptures, mobiles constructed from wire and paper, and colorful collages created from fallen leaves.

This is my Day Nineteen contribution to NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month, a commitment to post every day during the month of November: thirty days, thirty posts.