Yes, the picture is blurry: last night I had my pencam set to “macro” as I strolled around the Pheasant Lane Mall in Nashua, NH. I was shopping for reflective images, but when I saw through a glass window this photographer doing her damnedest to get Baby to smile for the camera, I couldn’t help myself. If shopping malls are monuments to Conspicuous Consumption, portrait studios are symbols of Parental Projection. As grown-ups hastening toward mortality, we want to see ourselves reflected in the fresh-eyed innocence of our children. Just as our parents took photos of us and their parents took photos of them, we take photos of our children as a way of encapsulating our deepest hopes for the future: our desire that Junior will become all that we never managed to be.

Since I don’t have children of my own, I seek my reflection not in the eyes of youth but in the sheen of shopwares: the trinkets and tchotchkes of Capitalist Culture.

Stores in general and shopping malls in particular say a great deal about what we want to value as a culture. In an age when stay-at-home Moms and Dads are an increasingly endangered breed, for instance, our stores are filled with shiny kitchen gadgets. Maybe if I buy the latest kitchen appliances, I can see myself as Suzy Homemaker even if I rarely have the time to venture into my kitchen?

Judging from what stocks our store shelves, we as a culture are obsessed with style, fashion, and beauty. In addition to the myriad mirrors and fashion accessories we have to choose from, our malls are filled with the accoutrements of style. Last night as I strolled the shops at Pheasant Lane, I was surprised to see how many lingerie, jewelry, and bath & body shops there were. Granted, such items are a hot commodity as Valentine’s Day approaches…but judging from the ordinary bodies I saw slumping their stuff around the mall, we aren’t a culture of supermodels and pretty boys. There’s a marked disconnect between what our buying habits say we value and who our bodies suggest we actually are.

Just as my tendency to take too many pictures of myself says something about me, what I value, and how I spend my Friday nights, the stores and shopping malls of America offer a larger-than-life projection of our cultural obsessions and desires. We want things bright, shiny, and pretty. We want to imagine ourselves as the kind of people who wake up and smell the tea in sexy, sweetly scented bodies even if we actually aren’t that way in real life. Junior might grow up to be a total loser…but in his baby pictures, he’s perpetually perfect, smiling, and in tightly shining focus.