River otter

Several weeks ago when I stole a half hour to go hiking at the Blue Hills, I also stopped at the Trailside Museum to buy a trail map. The Trailside Museum maintains a small zoo of local animals who have been rehabbed from injury but aren’t capable of living on their own. These one-eyed hawks, lame deer, and other members of the walking wounded serve to educate museum-goers about the kind of creatures they might see while hiking the area.

River otter

Usually when I’ve been at the Trailside Museum, the river otter is asleep. I don’t know what sort of injury landed him at the Trailside Museum, but I wouldn’t be surprised it was narcolepsy, given how much sleep he apparently needs. But on my most recent visit, my timing was just right, and the river otter was not only wide awake but swimming laps, executing a nice backflip every time he came to the wall of his enclosure…

Backflip

Backflip

Backflip

…and then swimming back the other way to do it again.

River otter

This is my Day Five contribution to NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month, a commitment to post every day during the month of November: thirty days, thirty posts.